Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Cortada to participate in Howlround’s Theatre in the Age of Climate Change Convening, Boston, MA

June 8, 2018 - June 10, 2018

HowlRound, in partnership with Chantal Bilodeau (The Arctic Cycle), Elizabeth Doud (Climakaze Miami/Fundarte), and Roberta Levitow (Theater Without Borders) present the Theatre in the Age of Climate Change Convening livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Friday 8 June to Sunday 10 June 2018. The Theatre in the Age of Climate Change convening is one of four convenings selected as part of the HowlRound Challenge to advance the role of the arts as a catalyst for social change.

Theatre in the Age of Climate Change logo

This convening will bring together thirty leading thinkers, presenters, and practitioners (see attendee list and biographies here) who are working at the intersection of performing arts and climate change for a three-day caucus to engage in a dynamic conversation around our common challenges, opportunities, and future strategies.

Follow @howlround in Twitter, and use hashtag #theatreandclimatechange.

climate change cloud

LIVESTREAM SCHEDULE:

FRIDAY 8 JUNE 2018
Orientation: What Are We About to Do Together?

1:00-1:45 pm EDT (Boston)/ 10:00-10:45 am PDT (San Francisco)/ 6:00-6:45 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 8:00-8:45 pm GMT+3 (Addis Ababa)/ 2:00pm-2:45 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 10:30-11:15 pm GMT+5:30 (Bangalore)

Introductions: Who Are We?
1:45-2:45 pm EDT (Boston)/ 10:45-11:45 am PDT (San Francisco)/ 6:45-7:45 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 8:45-9:45 pm GMT+3 (Addis Ababa)/2:45-3:45 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 11:15 pm-12:15 am GMT+5:30 (Banglore)

Group Discussion: What’s the Reality? What’s Working?
3:00-4:15 pm EDT (Boston)/12:00-1:15 pm PDT (San Francisco)/ 8:00-9:15 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 10:00-11:15 pm GMT+3 (Addis Ababa) / 4:00-5:15 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 12:30-1:15 am GMT-5:30 (Bangalore)

Group Discussion: How Do We Multiply Our Impact?
4:30-5:45 pm EDT (Boston)/ 1:3o-2:45 pm PDT (San Francisco)/ 9:30-10:45 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 11:30 pm-12:45 am GDT+3 (Addis Ababa)/ 5:30-6:45 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 2:00-3:45 am GMT+5:30 (Bangalore)

SATURDAY 9 JUNE 2018
Group Discussion: Are We Thinking Radically Enough?

9:30-11:00 am EDT (Boston)/ 6:30-8:00 am PDT (San Francisco)/ 2:30-4:00 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 4:30-6:00 pm GMT+3 (Addis Ababa)/ 10:30 am-12:00 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 7:00-9:30 pm GMT+5:30 (Bangalore)

Making the Theoretical Practical: Creating Working Groups
11:00-12:00 pm EDT (Boston)/ 8:00-9:00 am PDT (San Francisco)/ 4:00-5:00 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 6:00-7:00 pm GMT+3 (Addis Ababa)/ 12:00-1:00 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 8:30-9:30 pm GMT+5:30 (Bangalore)

Working Group Report Backs
2:00-2:45 pm EDT (Boston)/ 11:00-11:45 am PDT (San Francisco)/ 7:00-8:00 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 9:00-10:00 pm GMT+3 (Addis Ababa)/ 3:00-3:45 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 11:30 pm-12:15 am GMT+5:30 (Bangalore)

Working Group Deep Report Backs
4:00-5:30 pm EDT (Boston)/ 1:00-2:30 pm PDT (San Francisco)/ 9:00-10:30 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 11:00 pm-12:30 am GMT+3 (Addis Ababa)/ 5:00-6:30 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 1:30-3:00 am GMT+5:30 (Bangalore)

SUNDAY 10 JUNE 2018
Planning Sessions: Strategizing Next Steps
9:30-11:30 am EDT (Boston)/ 6:30-8:30 am PDT (San Francisco)/ 2:30-4:30 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 4:30-6:30 pm GMT+3 (Addis Ababa)/ 10:30 am-12:20 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 7:00-9:00 pm GMT+5:30 (Bangalore)

Closing
11:30-12:00 pm EDT (Boston)/ 8:30-9:00 am PDT (San Francisco)/4:30-5:00 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 6:30-7:00 pm GMT+3 (Addis Ababa)/ 12:30-1:00 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 9:00-9:30 pm GMT+5:30 (Bangalore)

ABOUT THE ORGANIZERS

Chantal Bilodeau is a playwright whose work focuses on the intersection of science, policy, art, and climate change. She is the Artistic Director of The Arctic Cycle—an organization created to support the writing, development and production of eight plays that look at the social and environmental changes taking place in the eight Arctic states—and the founder of the blog Artists & Climate Change. She co-organizes Climate Change Theatre Action, a worldwide series of readings and performances of climate change plays presented to coincide with the United Nations COP meetings. She curates the HowlRound series Theatre in the Age of Climate Change.

Elizabeth Doud is a theatre artist with a background in creative writing and performance, and twenty years of experience as an arts organizer and educator. Straddling the fields of international cultural exchange and climate arts, she has worked extensively in Latin America and the Caribbean, and co-created Climakaze Miami with FUNDarte in 2015, an annual climate performance and dialogue platform. She currently leads the Performing Americas Program of the National Performance Network, while pursuing a Phd. at the Federal University of Bahia, Brazil. She is a member of the Climate Lens cohort and spends her time between South Florida and Bahia, Brazil.

Theatre director, dramaturg, producer and teacher Roberta Levitow is a co-founder and director of Theatre Without Borders, a grass-roots all-volunteer network of theatre artists around the world. Theatre Without Borders (TWB) was a co-instigator of Climate Lens and the Climate Change Theatre Action 2015 in collaboration with NoPassport and The Arctic Cycle. Roberta is the Senior Program Associate/International with the Sundance Institute Theatre Program, now focused on exposure and exchange between the Middle East, North Africa, East Africa and the US. She is a Fulbright Ambassador Emerita with Fulbright grants in Hong Kong, Romania, and Uganda.

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world’s performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

CONVENING PARTICIPANTS
For a full biography of each participant click here.

Chantal Bilodeau (The Arctic Cycle), Catherine Bottrill (Julie’s Bicycle), Alison Carey (American Revolutions, Oregon Shakespeare Festival), Una Chaudhuri (New York University), Grisha Coleman (Arizona State University), Xavier Cortada (Florida International University), Rob Davies (Utah State University), Annalisa Dias (The Welders), Elizabeth Doud (Climakaze Miami), Robert Duffley (American Repertory Theater, Emerson College), Jayeesha Dutta (Another Gulf is Possible, Working Films), Alayna Eagle Shield (Standing Rock Sioux Tribal Member), Georgina Escobar (Playwright), Lydia Fort (Emory University), Lanxing Fu (Superhero Clubhouse), DeLesslin “Roo” George-Warren (Catawba Indian Nation), MJ Halberstadt (Emerson College), Marda Kirn (EcoArts Connections), Julia Levine (The Arctic Cycle), Roberta Levitow (Theatre Without Borders), Abhishek Majumdar (NYU Abu Dhabi), April Merleaux (Hampshire College), Teddy Rodger (The Laboratory for Global Performance and Politics at Georgetown University), Dr. Alyssa Schmidt (Boston Conservatory at Berklee College of Music), Jessica A. Schwartz (UCLA), Dr. Adilson Siqueira (Federal University of São João del-Rei), Cheryl Slean (VisionLA Climate Action Arts), Peterson Toscano (Citizens’ Climate Radio), Meaza Worku (Playwright), Kyoko Yoshida (U.S./Japan Cultural Trade Network (CTN)).

Details

Start:
June 8, 2018
End:
June 10, 2018
Website:
http://howlround.com/about

Organizer

Elizabeth Doud
Phone:
305.851.3342
Email:
elizabeth@fundarte.us
Website:
http://climakazemiami.org/contact-us/

Venue

HowlRound TV
Boston, MA United States + Google Map
Website:
http://howlround.com/tv